[ASA-Official] ASA general body meeting: Wed, April 21 at 7:30 pm

Keone Hon (ASA President) asa-president at MIT.EDU
Wed Apr 14 03:40:12 EDT 2010

Dear Student Group Officers,

Please take note of the following notices.


The spring 2010 ASA General Body Meeting will be held on Wednesday,
April 21, 2010, at 7:30 pm in 34-101.  Check-in begins at 7 pm; please
come early if you can in order to expedite the sign-in process.  Your
group is required to send a representative or your group faces ASA
derecognition.  An individual may represent more than one group but
will only receive one vote.

The main topic for the 2010 General Body Meeting is election of the
2010-11 ASA Executive Board.  Please consider running for election. In
order to effectively govern and advocate for student groups, the
ASA's executive board is comprised of past or current student group
officers who consequently understand the needs and challenges of
running a student organization.  We hope that you will consider
running for election.

******* Positions elected ********

The following positions will be elected on April 21, in this order:
* President
* Treasurer
* Secretary
* Undergraduate Members-at-Large (2)
* Graduate Members-at-Large (2)
* Student Member-at-Large

In order to be considered as a candidate for election, you may submit
a platform consisting of a single powerpoint slide to
asa-elect at mit.edu.  Alternatively, candidates may announce their
candidacy at the General Body Meeting, or may be nominated on the spot
during the meeting.

******* ASA Executive Board responsibilities ********

All ASA Executive Board members have shared responsibilities to carry
out the ASA's traditional activities, which involve organizing
collective resources for student groups, such as activities midways,
the first-year summer mailing, bulletin board space, and office space;
processing new group applications; voting on policy and rule
enforcement; and representing MIT student activities in meetings with
administrators and other governments.

Additionally, the ASA President, Treasurer, and Secretary have special

* The ASA President is the head of the organization, serving as the
primary representative to administrators, leading executive board
meetings and setting the agenda for discussion.
* The ASA Treasurer is the authority at MIT on student group funding.
He/she is charged with ensuring that student group funding policy
maximizes utility and fairness, and with linking the main funding
bodies at MIT (the UA Finboard, the GSC Funding Board, LEF/ARCADE, and
special funds) in order to ensure that each board fulfills its charge
and that shared funding policies are consistent across the boards.
He/she is the chair of the LEF/ARCADE funding board.
* The ASA Secretary is in charge of taking meeting minutes and
maintaining the ASA's website.

******* Elections process ********

Please submit a platform consisting of a single powerpoint slide to
asa-elect at mit.edu, or you may announce your candidacy during the
meeting or be nominated during the meeting.

If you have any questions, please feel free to e-mail
asa-elect at mit.edu or asa-president at mit.edu, or come talk to one of us
in person.



A message to you from the Student Activities Office:

Student leaders define MIT. They lay the foundations, build the
governments, plan the events, and enrich the culture that is MIT.

The Student Leader Awards are here to make sure their hard work gets
noticed. But first we need your help...

We need you to nominate your student leaders for this year's awards
(see descriptions below):

Nominating online is easy: just visit http://web.mit.edu/sla/, select
an award, and type up your 150 word nomination. (150 words is only a
couple quick paragraphs, we promise.)

- Agent of Change Award
- Common Ground Award
- Distinguished Dedication Award
- Legacy Award
- Organizational Excellence Award
- Outstanding Event Award
- Philanthropy Award
- Strength and Conviction Award
- *NEW* Remarkable New Student Group Award

Deadline is Friday, April 30th at 11:59 PM.

This year’s Student leader Awards will take place on Friday, May 14,
2010 from 3 – 5 PM (ceremony to begin at 3:30) in Morss Hall, Walker
Memorial.  Hors d'ourve will be served.

Award descriptions:

- Agent of Change Award: For strong commitment to and passion for
justice and activism

- Common Ground Award: For collaboration and partnership between
groups to produce outstanding campus programming

- Distinguished Dedication Award: For individuals who went "above and
beyond" as a student leader and who showed dedication to campus life
at MIT

- Legacy Award: For making a sustained and outstanding contribution to
the MIT community

- Organizational Excellence Award: For positive contributions to MIT,
outstanding programming, and a strong organizational structure or

- Outstanding Event Award: For efforts to plan and implement a
well-run, well-advertised, and well-attended event at MIT

- Philanthropy Award: For coordinating a philanthropy effort on behalf
of a charity

- Strength and Conviction Award: For individual efforts on behalf of a
group to overcome longstanding or unforeseen challenges

- *NEW* Remarkable New Student Group Award: Presented to a student
organization or living group that makes a new and unique contribution
to the larger MIT community



The 2009-10 ASA Executive Board

Keone Hon '11, President
Nicole Teague '11, Treasurer
Rebecca Krentz-Wee '12, Secretary
Tony Valderrama '11, Undergraduate Member-at-Large
Alex Dehnert '12, Undergraduate Member-at-Large
Matt Goldstein '10, Student Member-at-Large
Zhao Chen G, Graduate Member-at-Large
Leslie Dewan G, Graduate Member-at-Large
Grant Robinson '11, Undergraduate Association Representative
James Hong G, Graduate Student Council Representative

More information about the asa-official mailing list