gsc-officers@mit.edu

President

Arolyn Conwill

Executive Committee

gsc-president@mit.edu

Vice-President Angela Crews

Nominations Board

gsc-vp@mit.edu

Secretary

Orpheus

Chatzivasileiou

Publications & Publicity Board

gsc-secretary@mit.edu

Treasurer

Lisa Guay

Funding Board

gsc-treasurer@mit.edu

Committees

gsc-excomm@mit.edu

Academics, Research, & Careers (ARC)

Andrew Fiore Erik Tillman gsc-arc@mit.edu

Activities (AC)

Saurabh Gandhi Sami Khan gsc-ac@mit.edu

Assoc. of Student Activities (ASA)

Nichole Clarke gsc-asa@mit.edu

External Affairs (EAB)

Daniel Curtis gsc-eab@mit.edu

Housing & Community Affairs (HCA)

Ryan Gillis Sarah Shapiro gsc-hca@mit.edu

Muddy Charles Pub

Zsigmond Varga gsc-muddychair@mit.edu

Orientation (OC)

Sarah Goodman James Kaczmarek gsc-oc@mit.edu

Staff



Housing and Community Affairs Operating Procedures

This document details the operating procedures of the Housing and Community Affairs Committee of the Graduate Student Council (HCA).

1. Objective

The objective of the HCA committee is to ensure that the MIT graduate experience is enjoyable, affordable, safe, healthy and marked by a welcoming community. The committee provides an avenue for members of the community to have transparent discussions of issues pertaining to the entire graduate population. Furthermore, each subcommittee within HCA focuses on a particular aspect of student life so that the committee collectively provides a positive impact on all graduate students.

2. Committee Composition and Membership

The membership of HCA is comprised of:

- a. Two elected co-chairs
- b. The designated GSC Officer Liaison for HCA
- c. Chairs of the following HCA subcommittees
 - o Family
 - o iREFS
 - o Off-campus
 - Sustainability
 - o Transportation
 - Wellness

gsc-officers@mit.edu

President

Arolyn Conwill

Executive Committee

gsc-president@mit.edu

Vice-President Angela Crews Nominations Board gsc-vp@mit.edu

Secretary

Orpheus

Chatzivasileiou

Publications & Publicity Board

gsc-secretary@mit.edu

Treasurer

Lisa Guay

Funding Board

gsc-treasurer@mit.edu

Committees

gsc-excomm@mit.edu

Academics, Research, &

Careers (ARC)

Andrew Fiore Erik Tillman gsc-arc@mit.edu

Activities (AC)

Saurabh Gandhi Sami Khan gsc-ac@mit.edu

Assoc. of Student Activities (ASA)

Nichole Clarke gsc-asa@mit.edu

External Affairs (EAB)

Daniel Curtis gsc-eab@mit.edu

Housing & Community Affairs (HCA)

Ryan Gillis Sarah Shapiro gsc-hca@mit.edu

Muddy Charles Pub

Zsigmond Varga gsc-muddychair@mit.edu

Orientation (OC)

Sarah Goodman James Kaczmarek gsc-oc@mit.edu

Staff



- d. Representatives from each of the following graduate dorms
 - o 70 Amherst
 - Ashdown
 - Eastgate
 - o Edgerton
 - o Sidney-Pacific
 - The Warehouse
 - o Tang Hall
 - o Westgate
- e. Any other interested graduate students and spouses/partners

3. Monthly meetings

HCA will hold regular monthly meetings. These meetings will be scheduled by the co-chairs. At the co-chairs' discretion, additional meetings may be scheduled as necessary.

4. Expectations of HCA members

At least one chair from each subcommittee is expected to attend the monthly HCA meetings. If a subcommittee chair is unable to attend, a member of the subcommittee may attend on the chair's behalf. Similarly, each graduate dorm is expected to have at least one representative present at the monthly meeting.

5. Elections of Co-Chairs

Elections of co-chairs for HCA will occur at the April meeting. All committee members who have attended at least one committee meeting prior to the election are eligible to vote. The candidates shall give a short introductory speech and answer questions from committee members. If a candidate cannot be present for the

gsc-officers@mit.edu

PresidentArolyn Conwill

Executive Committee gsc-president@mit.edu

Vice-President Angela Crews Nominations Board gsc-vp@mit.edu

Secretary

Orpheus Chatzivasileiou Publications & Publicity Board

gsc-secretary@mit.edu

Treasurer Lisa Guay

Funding Board

gsc-treasurer@mit.edu

Committees

gsc-excomm@mit.edu

Academics, Research, & Careers (ARC)

Andrew Fiore Erik Tillman gsc-arc@mit.edu

Activities (AC)

Saurabh Gandhi Sami Khan gsc-ac@mit.edu

Assoc. of Student Activities (ASA)

Nichole Clarke gsc-asa@mit.edu

External Affairs (EAB)

Daniel Curtis gsc-eab@mit.edu

Housing & Community Affairs (HCA)

Ryan Gillis Sarah Shapiro gsc-hca@mit.edu

Muddy Charles Pub

Zsigmond Varga gsc-muddychair@mit.edu

Orientation (OC)

Sarah Goodman James Kaczmarek gsc-oc@mit.edu

Staff



election, they may virtually participate or may submit a written statement. The candidates will leave the room while the committee deliberates, then votes by secret ballot, ranking each candidate. The votes will be counted by the full preferential method.

If the top three or more candidates are in a tie or there is a tie between the second and third place candidate, the candidate with the least number of votes will be eliminated and their votes will be cast for the candidate listed as second choice on the ballot. This process will be repeated until there are two candidates with the most votes and these candidates will be appointed HCA Co-Chairs. If a tie remains after the conclusion of this process, a coin toss, die roll, or some other random method will be used to determine the winner(s).

The outgoing co-chairs of HCA will preside over the elections. If one co-chair is seeking reelection, the other co-chair will preside. In the event that both co-chairs are seeking reelection, the GSC Vice President or their appointed representative will preside over the elections.

If one or more co-chair positions remain unfilled after the April HCA meeting, elections will be held at each subsequent meeting until both positions are filled. In the event of a tie in an election for a single co-chair position, the candidate who received the least number of votes will be eliminated and their votes will be cast for the candidate listed as second choice on the ballot. This process will be repeated until one candidate has the majority of the votes. If a tie remains after the conclusion of this process, a coin toss or other random method will be used to determine the winner.

6. Chairs of Subcommittees

Each subcommittee will define their election procedures for subcommittee chair positions. Chairs of new or currently inactive

gsc-officers@mit.edu

President

Arolyn Conwill

Executive Committee

gsc-president@mit.edu

Vice-President Angela Crews Nominations Board gsc-vp@mit.edu

Secretary

Orpheus

Chatzivasileiou

Publications & Publicity Board

gsc-secretary@mit.edu

Treasurer

Lisa Guay

Funding Board

gsc-treasurer@mit.edu

Committees

gsc-excomm@mit.edu

Academics, Research, &

Careers (ARC)
Andrew Fiore

Erik Tillman gsc-arc@mit.edu

Activities (AC)

Saurabh Gandhi Sami Khan gsc-ac@mit.edu

Assoc. of Student Activities (ASA)

Nichole Clarke gsc-asa@mit.edu

External Affairs (EAB)

Daniel Curtis gsc-eab@mit.edu

Housing & Community Affairs (HCA)

Ryan Gillis Sarah Shapiro gsc-hca@mit.edu

Muddy Charles Pub

Zsigmond Varga gsc-muddychair@mit.edu

Orientation (OC)

Sarah Goodman James Kaczmarek gsc-oc@mit.edu

Staff



subcommittees shall be appointed at the discretion of the HCA chairs.

7. Amendments

Amendments to these operating procedures can be made by a 2/3 vote of the HCA members present at an HCA meeting. Amendments can be proposed by any member of HCA.

8. Ratification

These operating procedures can be ratified by a 2/3 vote of the HCA members present at an HCA meeting.

9. Voting Procedure

All voting decisions within the committee outside of election votes and votes on operating procedures (procedures are specified in Sections 5 and 7 respectively) shall be made by approval by a simple majority vote of HCA members present at the meeting. HCA members are specified in Section 2.